Auto #Insurance FAQ
Florida insurance is often being reviewed and/or changed by legislation, the
following are a few frequently asked questions, we often ask ourselves about
I am registering a vehicle for the first time in Florida. Is
automobile insurance mandatory?
Yes. If you own a vehicle with at least four wheels and are
registering it, you must have Florida insurance.
What type of insurance is required to purchase and maintain a
Florida license plate and registration?
Florida's minimum coverage is $10,000 personal injury protection
(PIP) and $10,000 #property damage liability (PDL) as long as you have a valid
Florida license plate.
What is "Personal Injury Protection" (PIP) insurance?
Also called Florida No Fault Insurance, Personal Injury
Protection (PIP) Insurance covers you - regardless of fault (i.e. whether or
not you cause the crash) - up to the limits of your policy. Your PIP will also
cover your child, members of your household, certain passengers who lack PIP Insurance
as long as they do not own a vehicle. People riding in your vehicle who carry
PIP will receive coverage under their own PIP for their injuries, and certain
licensed drivers who drive your vehicle with your permission. PIP also covers
your child if he or she suffers an injury while riding on a school bus. PIP
coverage protects you while in someone else's vehicle, as a pedestrian, or
bicyclist if you suffer an injury in a crash involving a motor vehicle. The
Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law, requires all owner/registrants of a motor
vehicle with four wheels or more to carry a minimum of $10,000 of Personal
Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 of property damage liability (PDL) if you
own a motor vehicle in Florida. Florida law requires you to maintain PIP/PDL
insurance continuously throughout the licensing and registration period.
What is " Bodily Injury Liability" (BIL) insurance?
Bodily Injury Liability coverage pays for serious and permanent
injury or death to others when you cause a crash involving your automobile.
Your insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits of your policy
and provide legal representation for you if you get sued. In particular, your
company pays for injuries caused by you or members of your family who live with
you, even if they were driving someone else's vehicle. It may also cover others
who drive your automobile with your permission. This coverage also provides you
with legal defense in the event you are sued by the injured party.
What is "Property Damage Liability"
This coverage pays for damages you or members of your family
cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a
If my driving privilege is suspended because I am not properly
insured, is there a penalty to reinstate my license?
Yes. A reinstatement fee of $150 up to $500, for subsequent violations,
must be paid and you must provide proof of current Florida insurance.
I live outside Florida for six months a year. When not in
Florida, my vehicle is in storage and not used. Must I maintain automobile
Yes. Any vehicle holding a valid Florida license plate and
registration must be covered by a Florida insurance policy throughout the
entire registration period. When you leave Florida, you may surrender your
license plate and registration at the nearest driver license or Tax Collector office
to avoid maintaining your policy. You can always register your vehicle upon
your return to Florida, at which time you can provide proof of Florida
What can I do to avoid a driving privilege
suspension when I choose not to insure a vehicle?
To avoid a driving privilege suspension, surrender the vehicle's
license plate and registration at any Florida driver license or Tax Collector
office, prior to canceling your insurance policy.
I am moving out of state and will not be
registered in Florida any more. Can I cancel my insurance?
Do not cancel your insurance until you have registered in the
other state. Florida insurance is required as long as you are registered in
Florida, regardless of whether you drive in Florida. Once you are registered in
the other state, you can cancel Florida insurance and comply with the insurance
requirements of the state you have moved to. If you are retaining the same
carrier, they can switch you simultaneously with registration change.
is provided by ABC Neighborhood Insurance, an independent #agency where the
client comes first. They have
relationships with dozens of insurance companies, allowing you to get the best
coverage, with the best company, at the best
price for your all needs.